Recycling Inspiration

We have been caught up in the routine of life’s inexorable march forward and have not been able to maintain any sort of scheduled blogging effort lately.  There’s no sense in apologizing as it will most assuredly continue to happen.  We’re just not “schedule” people!

So, since there is nothing new to report, you will just have to suffer with recycled material.  As I reviewed which photos to include in this post, I realized that although the pictures may not be fresh, the feelings they inspire within me will never become stale.  We are blessed to live in an environment which has so much to offer.  Diverse life forms, habitats and colors mixed with a temperate climate which allows us to be outside virtually all year produce a potentially infinite array of possibilities to share.  Some of these images have been used here before, some have not.  We hope you’ll forgive our laziness, but as I said, it will happen again!

A few favorites which fuel our passion for natural Florida.

Fog At Dawn

Fog At Dawn

 

Northern Mockingbird

Northern Mockingbird

Zebra Longwing

Zebra Longwing

 

Sandhill Crane

Sandhill Crane

 

Alligator

Alligator

 

Osprey

Osprey

 

Anhinga

Anhinga

 

Pileated Woodpecker

Pileated Woodpecker

 

Nine-banded Armadillo

Nine-banded Armadillo

 

Brown Pelican

Brown Pelican

 

Yellow-crowned Night Heron (Juvenile)

Yellow-crowned Night Heron

 

Limpkin

Limpkin

 

Black Racer

Black Racer

 

Black-bellied Whistling Duck

Black-bellied Whistling Duck

 

Barred Owl

Barred Owl

 

Great Egret

Great Egret

 

Bobcat

Bobcat

 

Red-shouldered Hawk

Red-shouldered Hawk

 

Eastern Meadowlark

Eastern Meadowlark

 

Purple Gallinule

Purple Gallinule

 

Snail Kite

Snail Kite

 

White Ibis

White Ibis

 

Green Heron

Green Heron

 

Crested Caracara

Crested Caracara

 

Mixed Flock

Mixed Flock

 

Cooper's Hawk

Cooper’s Hawk

 

Passion Flower

Passion Flower

 

Swallow-tailed Kite

Swallow-tailed Kite

 

Great Blue Heron

Great Blue Heron

 

Sunset Swallows

Sunset Swallows

 

Bald Eagle

Bald Eagle

 

 

 

 

Enjoy your search for a natural place and come back for a visit!

Categories: Birds, Florida, Photography | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , | 28 Comments

Post navigation

28 thoughts on “Recycling Inspiration

  1. A wonderful review …. and exactly why we chose this place to settle after traveling all those years!

  2. If these photos were songs, they would be on my permanent play list so I could play them over and over. Fog at Dawn is ethereal, just wonderful. Don’t over look your story-telling gifts, too. I (and I’m sure everybody else) would love some tales from our cow pasture wandering, Tarzan-vine swinging childhood. Visits to grandparent farms were pretty cool, too.

    • You are assuming my memory can dredge up those images from sooooooo long ago! 🙂

      HI, SISTER!! Thanks for the wonderful comments!

  3. A great series of photos – very beautiful – and so interesting to see how many of the birds are similar to ones we have down here in Australia – and also to see the ones that are quite different. The Passion flower is beautiful – is this a fruiting variety?

    • I appreciate your nice comments, Mick! That version of the flower is the Purple Passion Flower (Passiflora incarnata) and it grows as a weed throughout the southeastern U.S. It does have a small pulpy fruit which can be edible if you pick it when ripe.

  4. Gorgeous array of captures. They deserved to be displayed several times over. You’re very lucky indeed to live in such a beautiful place.

  5. What a superb and heavenly collection of natural Florida’s gems… Wow. These are just stunning captures! I’m so very jealous of your yellow-crowned, bobcat, eagle, kite…so many!

    • Thank you very much for the nice comments! Isn’t it neat how they’re all out there for any of us to enjoy with just a little effort?

  6. I’ve been going through that kind of period my self Wally, especially after the birding treats I had in your wonderfull state a short time ago, and now having to contend with the misserable British weather. In nyour case it has given the rest of us a chance to see your wonderfull photos, and what a great selection. So do not appologise.
    All the best Gordon.

  7. We never tire of seeing the same birds when we have a local patch Wally so why should we tire of looking at pictures we have seen before, especially when they are as good as yours are? As in looking at the real thing, or reading a book for the second time there is always something missed on the first occasion, a chance to see other nuances or the picture brings other things to mind. For instance, I didn’t know Florida had Bobcats? (super picture). That hawk which is a buteo, now looks rather slim. If I had money I would pay good money see an Armadillo in the wild like that, never mind get such a brilliant picture. And, I swear I actually heard that meadowlark singing right at me.

    • Well, when nice people take the time to make such wonderful remarks, I really appreciate it! Thank you, Phil! It is the birds, after all, not the photographs, which keep us going! (Florida has quite a robust population of Bobcats. It seems we see one about every second trip now. Not to mention Coyotes, which are rapidly reaching nuisance status.)

  8. Terrific collection of stellar shots!

  9. Incredible wildlife shots, Wally! Who cares if they’re recycled? I was on a blogging schedule but somehow got off track. It’s a commitment for sure. Hope you have a great week.

  10. I envy your wildlife ! But it´s a pleasure for the eyes to visit your blog 🙂 .
    Stunning photos :), love them all // Maria

  11. What an amazing assortment of critters. I’d never get anything done, let alone blogging! I’m trying to figure out if the heron had the snake or vice-versa. Loved seeing all these. I don’t know that I’d have stuck around to get a photo of the alligator. 😉

    • Thank you, Patti! After about a 10-minute tussle, the Heron definitely had the snake! For dinner! The whole thing! I really appreciate your comments.

  12. I love visiting your blog, it is akin to walking along side you and being in Florida again. I miss it and your images make me feel a bit less homesick for the birds I loved so much there.

    • That really makes me feel good, Mia! It’s enough that I’m able to enjoy the birds in person, but to know that sharing evokes a memory in someone makes it all seem special!

  13. i like your way of recyclying! shots like these never get old! my goodness!

    • Thank you! It helps that I can look at them and remember where I was and the circumstances. I reckon it’s called a “memory”.

  14. An amazing walk about, your photos are terrific.

We value your Comments

Blog at WordPress.com.

